Client Reviews


Perfect accommodations and perfect location.

 Left on 05/14/2012 for a stay in May 2012

When you are driving to Hale aloha aina, you begin to wonder what you are getting into as you drive what seems like a long way up this country road (the first time; everything is always shorter once you understand the area). But as soon as you open the front door, you are like "wow, this is nice". And indeed it is. Well constructed, well designed, well situated, well provisioned, well decorated and I've never tasted such good water, so even the well is well. Centrally located to everything you want to see on the South side. Beautifully sunny every morning we were there (and the Caldera was quite active). Only a bit of vog one day; most of it seems to blow right around the west side and up to Captain Cook and Kailua (which I would not recommend staying in - we did later in the trip and were vogged in every day). The nights were full of stars, the mornings full of songbirds and I have never seen more beautiful horses anywhere than in Wood Valley and in other parts of the south island. Would I recommend this place to others? Without hesitation! Thanks Tom and Missy! This was money well spent and more than we expected! Oh, one more thing...kudos to their housekeeper...the place was spotless and dust free.

Tom
Carmel, CA

Response from Tom and Missy

05/15/2012

"E KOMO MAI" means welcome... and that is what we want our guests to feel as soon as they arrive at Hale Aloha Aina. The destination is a journey in itself... a hidden valley tucked away in the southern slope of Mauna Loa that few will ever experience. The water source is very rare as we have a natural spring that supplies 35 residents and the agriculture in our area. It is one of the purest on earth. Being off the grid has it's challenges, but as our guests all learn... the system is very easy to use and the benefits of being self sufficient is reassuring. We are most fortunate to have friends and family maintain the hale while we are away and we all agree on our definition of clean ;0) IMMACULATE home and pristine manicured grounds. We couldn't do it without them ;0) Mahalo Tom and to all of our guests who have taking such wonderful care of our Big Island Cottage. We hope that you will return as many have made this their yearly retreat!

A Beautiful and Relaxing Retreat

Left on 01/24/2011 for a stay in December 2010
My husband and I were so very lucky to have discovered Hale aloha aina! From the minute we arrived we felt comfortable and at home. Missy and Tom have very considerately outfitted their home with everything that you could ever need or want on your trip to explore the big island.
We took a day just to spend at the house and enjoy the yard, the bicycles and the wonderfully relaxing hammock in the backyard.
There was never a concern about the power supplied by the solar panels. We also experienced a couple of days of overcast and rainy weather; still not any problem with the power.
In our opinion there is no better place to stay, come home to after a day exploring, make dinner and relax on the back lanai and listen to the night sounds of Wood Valley. Every morning was delightful, the birds and the sunrise come to life and you are there to experience it all, while enjoying the local coffee. We will always remember this wonderful little house and look forward to our next stay at Hale aloha aina.

Heaven in Hawaii
Reno, Nevada

Paradise

Just loved, loved, loved this place. So beautiful and relaxing. Very secluded and peaceful. A great get-away for those who are looking for something different than the crowded resort scene. Missy and Tom are wonderful to deal with. This cottage shows the pride they have in their hearts of owning and sharing such a wonderful place. Thank you for sharing your piece of "Paradise"!

C. Stockton
Bakersfield, CA

Privacy amongst the Garden of Eden!

Left on 01/10/2011 for a stay in December 2010 

Beautiful place up in wood valley. We esp. enjoyed the quiet, the fruit trees (we collected lemons, limes, guavas, and Hawaiian raspberries from the property), the large area, and the cabin. Beautiful backcountry roads for a morning or evening jog, and drives past macadamia nut plantations to come home. The cabin was very clean and comfy...we never had a problem with the solar power...even after two full days of rain, using the laundry, TV, or radio. A bonus for us the availability of a few items (if you take care of them) like beach towels, an umbrella, guide books, and snorkel gear! I should have left mine at home! Kitchen had everything we needed, and the grill outside was prefect. Lots of variable weather in Dec...some rain, clouds, sun...
The only downside is the location...it's a pretty long drive to just about everywhere except the black sands beach. But that's a price to pay for privacy!

Jan
Alaska

Mmmm, tranquility...

Left on 01/10/2011 for a stay in November 2010 

This was the third cottage we stayed in to round out our honeymoon on the Big Island. After driving almost everywhere on the island it was a sweet rest to spend our time at the cottage, walking in Wood Valley lanes and enjoying the serenity of the cottage. Though not 5-star glitz like a resort it was 7-star in preparation and thoughtfulness - kitchen, bathroom, bedroom and grounds. Take it as a whole honeymoon getaway, or just a few days to unwind before real life comes at you - this was a superb place to stay!

Noor Al Raimey
Sana'a, Yemen

Beautiful & Romantic Second Honeymoon

Left on 08/02/2010 for a stay in May 2010 

Aloha Missy!

What a wonderful time at your cottage! We understand why you are excited to retire (in sooo many ways!) We just wanted to let you know we had a great time and have decided next time we need to stay for 2 weeks to get everything in that we missed out on. Hawaii is absolutely beautiful!! Coming home to the humidity has not been very exciting for us, but, we missed out on the 90 degree temps here which did not dissappoint me any!
The cottage is beautifully decorated, and the patio is a wonderful wake up or good night setting. The last night, the sky cleared so that we did not miss out on all of the stars, what a grand finale! Apple bananas are delicious!!
We met the grounds keeper Daven and another local Dane, they were both very informative and helpful!! Very friendly!!
Thank you so much again for sharing your beautiful home and your wisdom on places to visit. The break from work and fast paced "life" has been much appreciated. Wonderful memories have been made as well as plans,hopes and dreams for our next 25 yrs!
Mahalo to both you and Tom!

George & Deb
Michigan

PERFECT!!!!

Left on 04/06/2010 for a stay in March 2010 

I surprised my girlfriend with a trip to the Big Island, and as I was looking for places to stay, I somehow found a link to Hale Aloha Aina. I am SO glad that I found it!!!! We arrived at night, after the long dark drive up the hill... thinking... "where in the hell are we?" As soon as we got there, we new this was a special place. Completely isolated, totally quiet, fresh breeze, very clean, decorated nicely... we felt right at home immediately. Waking up to that first view of the property blew our minds!!! We roamed around, taking in the sunshine, the peace, and the overall feel of the place. We definitely enjoyed coming back to the house each day after travelling around the island. We found the CD collection and put on the perfect songs to add to our relaxed mood. Sometimes we took some blankets out to the lawn and napped out in the open air. I had also brought my guitar to strum, and the acoustics of the vaulted ceilings made for excellent sound in the kitchen area. It is one of the best places we have ever stayed! A true romantic getaway. It feels like a little secret... one we plan to visit again and again.

Alohadave
Haleiwa, HI

I miss Hale Aloha Aina everyday!

Left on 03/31/2010 for a stay in February 2010 

We had the very good fortune to visit the Big Island in February for a 9-day trip. We chose Missy and Tom's lovely cottage in Wood Valley, just south of Volcano Nat'l Park, for the full stay - and couldn't soak up more pleasure from this lovely slice of heaven!!! It has all the charms we were hoping for - full kitchen, total comfort and privacy, lovely landscaping, beautiful light and views, as well as the delightful sounds of nature. The sounds of birds and farm animals softly greeted us every morning, and the expansive star- filled sky bid 'sweet dreams' to us each night. The beauty is nearly beyond words - it's a must experience place, where one can re-charge, and appreciate the unique offerings of the amazing Big Island. We really enjoyed being a little removed from the tourist hustle, and it was astounding how much information was available at the cottage, or provided by the hosts. Missy and Tom put so much care and thoughtfulness into their hospitality, and we as guests never had a need that was not met. We enjoyed picking up produce and fresh fish in Hilo, and bringing the bounty back to the cottage for delicious tropical-flavored meals. And we also enjoyed eating at some of the local restaurants. We looked forward every morning to a delicious cup of home-brewed Pau coffee. There's so much to experience on Hawaii, that one visit can't possibly be enough. We are already planning another visit, and hope we have the good luck to stay at Hale Aloha Aina again. It stays with us in our hearts, along with the honu, i'iwi and 'amakihi, and THANK YOU for providing such special memories. Mahalo!

Shari & Sean
Oakland, CA

"Hale Aloha Aina" a place to live your dreams

Away from Hotel Ressorts this is a really special and wonderful cottage to stay, by far the best we could find on Big Island.
It is a place of Peace and Privacy and totally surrounded by nature where you can still feel the Aloha Spirit and where you can have dreams and live your dreams with your loved one.
There is a huge garden with trees, birds and fresh lemons. You can play cricket in the garden or sit in the wonderful lanai in the morning and enjoy the sunrise or you can lay in the hammock among the trees.
In the beautiful cottage you can find everything you need. The cottage is Solarpowered and works perfectly. Only sometimes in the morning depending on the winds it can be a little cold before Sunrise. But for this case there is a small gas heater which we could use.
The Owners Tom and Missy are very friendly and helpful and in the cottage you will find all the information you need to know about Big Island.
The home is a good starting point for hiking tours or visiting the Volcano National Park or going to the close Black Sand Beach where you can see huge Turtles.
It is a perfect place to relax and to feel at home.
Thanky you so much Missy and Tom

Lukas & Rita
Switzerland

Response from Tom and Missy

03/24/2010

As I read our guest comments, it is so apparent that we were meant to share this paradise with those who want to experience mother nature at her best! Hale Aloha Aina means House of the Loving Land and it reflects the care and love that we put into the cottage and grounds. It is truly a special place and we are glad to share our hidden treasure with you! We know that you will enjoy it so much that you will want to keep it a secret... but be so rejuvenated that you will have to tell everyone!

Excellent experience

Left on 12/03/2009 for a stay in October 2009 

We much prefer staying in a stand alone cottage with space then in a "mega resort" and if you are like this too then this is the place for you! The cottage is completely by itself yet really close enough to do anything. We stayed 24 days and completely loved the fact that each started and ended at Tom and Missy's cottage:) Within 30 minutes is Volcanos (do not worry about the "vog"- it was completely a non-issue at the cottages location! The air quality within the lush wood valley was far superior then a nice day in our Denver area!), 10 min the Black Sand Beach where we saw turtles sunning themselves, an hour is Hilo. 90 min is both Mauna Kea AND Kona. The cottage itself is awesome - very comfortable, very clean and an unbelievable place to unwind. The grounds too are unreal, incredibly fantastic due to the attention of Dave the very friendly landscaper who always called to let us know when he was planning to come by! He even found us some berries. Missy is a joy to work with through out too:) We would HIGHLY recommend to anyone to stay.

JeffW
Westminster, Colorado

Our Favorite Place on Earth

Date of Stay: 08/07/09 Review Submitted: 08/23/09

On our frequent trips to each of the Hawaiian islands, we NEVER go back to a vacation rental twice. Our recent and second trip to Hale Aloha Aina was the first time we broke that rule, because we've never been able to find another place that evokes the level of emotions that this perfect cottage does. There is no better place to be in love!
The Big Island is called big for a reason, and we can say that although we noted very high activity at the volcano and much larger plumes of volcanic fog than on our last trip, we never noticed it at or near the cottage, even though its only a 20 minute drive away. Every morning except one was bright sunshine and clear skies.
We did not stay for the 7th night as originally planned, in order to make it to Kauai for a vacation home rental that required we stay at least 5 days. That was the most expensive place we have ever booked at approx $500/night, a huge place on an oceanside bluff with hot tub, jacuzzi, and every amenity one could imagine, including access to its own private beach. Yet, we found that within a couple of days our minds and hearts were drifting back to your cottage, a place that makes us feel like no other vacation home we have ever rented on any island on 13 island trips.
And so, as we write this review, and since we've returned home a few days ago, we find our minds constantly drifting back to thoughts of Hale Aloha Aina, and the cottage, the outdoor shower, the stars, cooking for each other in a surprisingly well equipped kitchen, continuous walks around the beautiful and expansive property.
If there's a place on earth that brings a higher level or peace, intimacy, love and passion, we haven't found it yet. We'll keep looking, but in the meantime, can't imagine a trip to the Hawaiian islands without an extended stay at Hale Aloha Aina.

R&PVW
(Edmonton, Alberta)

Owner response:

Aloha Rob and Paula, How wonderful that you feel so connected to the lush aina and sweet hale! After five years of renting our home, we never get tired of hearing what a wonderful experience it was for our guests. It fills my heart with joy that we can offer a place of peace and contentment for people like yourselves who just need some 'time out'. It is hard to put into words, but having a chance to just breathe is precious. For our future guests who are concerned with the vog, it really depends on the trade winds. We can certainly say that it has affected our visibility of the coast line all the way to Kona at times and sometimes the sunrise is a yellow ball in a hazy glow. It is a spectacular site to see the lava enter the ocean and where on earth can you be in paradise and witness an active volcano. The Big Island is like no other Paradise on Earth! I truly feel that the 'Mana' of Hale Aloha Aina is a living spirit that helps us to reclaim our connection to the Aina (earth) and brings us closer to those we love. Reading our guest comments says it all!

Recommended for:Sightseeing, romantic getaway, age 55+, adventure seekers. 

Tranquil Mountain Hideaway

Date of Stay: 03/21/12 Review Submitted: 04/01/12

This was one of the most memorable and enjoyable weeks we have spent in some time. The owners have provided every little detail to make the stay easy and carefree. The location was secluded with eight acres of lawn, trees, flowers and tropical plants. ( Most with labels for identicication). Clean comfortable and affordable with so many extras, like fresh flowers on the table.
Off the grid, solar electric was easy to manage and we only ran the generator to do laundry. There was highspeed internet that I used to research our daily sightseeing. Not having TV was a plus, but if we wanted to watch a movie there was a TV DVD player and Stero sound with lots of great DVD's CD's
This is really the Old Hawaii, and the Big Island is so different from Ohau and it's crowds and grid lock traffic.Come prepared with food and drink as there is limited shopping and restaurants are close to 40 miutes away. That was fine with us because the kitchen was well equiped for making our own dinners.
The location was great for day trips to any part of the island and those days we had dinner out on our way home. Highlights were hiking the many trails at the National Volcano Park and learning the geological history of the island. The drive up the Mauna Kea Volcano Road to 13,796 feet above sea level was great. Tropical rain forest at sea level and snow, ice and lava rock at the summit. Views were fantastic. Road was passable in a regular two wheel drive sedan, however it violates the rental car policy ( your risk )
The air was cool and clear, but rain more likely here than on the west shore, Volcano smoke (VOG) was nonexistant, and never has been a problem here from reports we have gotten.
Hale Aloha Aina was truly every thing the owner represented on their website and more. A must if you want to see Hawaii as was years ago. Tim & Linda B. Keystone, Co

Timothy B.

Paradise Found

Date of Stay: 03/17/12 Review Submitted: 03/29/12

With all the glowing reviews, I’m not sure what I can add—except to say, yes, yes, yes. This is a magical place with barely a flaw and worthy of the accolades. The bucolic setting, the beautifully maintained grounds, the solitude and serenity, the coolness at the higher elevation, and the charm and cleanliness of the cottage were all compelling. And Tom and Missy were most helpful in preparation for our trip. In considering this place there are some things to know, however. Pahala isn’t the least bit of a tourist town—it’s about as old-time Hawaii as you can get—definitely in a good way. Putting together a dinner from the selection at Pahala store isn’t a city experience, but we found it fun. Restaurants are a ways off, but we weren’t tempted except on one night visit to Kilauea. Runs, and walks in the neighborhood were a delight. We bicycled a delightful lightly-traveled but paved farm road almost to Na’alehu. (Be warned of a big hill at the end!) And, saving the best for last—every day we rose early and sat on the lenai with our coffee and mangos to watch the sun rise and listen to the world wake up in Wood Valley.

Eric & Janeann
(Juneau, AK)

Recommended for:Romantic getaway, age 55+, adventure seekers. 

A Perfect Sanctuary

Date of Stay: 12/15/11 Review Submitted: 01/11/12

My husband and i LOVED this cottage! It was everything the pictures and listing described and more - beautiful, peaceful, very private. THe cottage itself was clean and well-maintained, thanks to the personable caretakers Davin and Mona. THe grounds and property are magical. We arrived late at night in the dark, and when we woke up in the morning the sight literally took our breath away it was so gorgeous. Owners Tom and Missy were extremely helpful with our original trip planning and very accessible all along, although we didn't need much help once we got there and found it was all that we hoped for and more. We are avid hikers so the location and proximity to Volcanoes National Park worked perfectly for us. If you want to be in the middle of all the action and close to lots of restaurants etc. then this might not be the place for you, but if you're looking for a setting that will nourish your soul, promote true relaxation, and even let you feel a little like a 'local', then we would highly recommend Hale Aloha Aina!

Chris & Mark
Haleiwa, HI

Owner response:

Gosh... our guests really do say it best!! This home brings out the POET in everyone! I Wood Valley has the same effect on me and you may have read my poem... it really is hard to describe all the feeling this place evokes... there is no other place to be in love, rekindle love or BE LOVED! I am so happy that you experienced such tranquility and peace during your stay and hope to hear from you again! Mahalo for taking the time to help our future guests decide if Hale Aloha AIna "IS" the place they have been searching for their dream vacation! My favorite thing to do when I visit the hale is to sit out on the lanai with a glass of wine and read our guest book. It gives us great pleasure to be able to offer such a special paradise for all to enjoy! Much Aloha!!

Magical Wood Valley!

Date of Stay: 08/28/11 Review Submitted: 09/12/11

his was our first Hawaii vacation and it won't be our last! Hale Aloha Aina was certainly a good choice. It is a well maintained jewel in Wood Valley, it was pretty much a home away from home, we wanted for nothing! The property is as Missy and Tom describe, and what beautiful grounds surrounded the Hale! We are not hotel folk and this suited us so well, being able to shop at the local markets and get such fresh produce and then having a fully equipped kitchen meant we could eat home cooked meals. We were also lucky to have some of the little bananas from the yard, the grounds keeper shared them with us.....oh how wonderful! Missy and Tom are wonderful to deal with and gave us some wonderful information to read before our arrival. The Hale is truly in the country, so peaceful, relaxing and rejuvenating. The sun streaming in the windows woke us every morning and watching the Japanese White Eye on the plants outside the bedroom window was an amazing way to start the day. The Volcano was captivating , we spent almost 12 hours there, the craters continue to be a little active but it was so interesting to see (we did a helicopter ride over one of the craters) it did not have any affect on our vacation to the Hale. We read about the Vog but did not have any problems from it. There are so many things to keep you busy (if you want) Macadamia and Coffee farms, hikes, farmers markets, Botanical Garden, black sand beaches....so beautiful... snorkeling (thanks for the loan of the equipment Missy and Tom, we went on our own "trip" had such fun and saw some wonderful fish!) I could go on and on and then you could just sit and relax on the Lanai! We did miss the stars, unfortunately we had several cloudy evening skies. While we crawled all over the Island, there were a few places we didn't make it to and some we should revisit. We would have no reservations in recommending this secluded vacation spot to our friends a relatives! Mahalo, Missy and Tom!

ulie B.
(ThirdLake, Illinois)

 Recommended for:Sightseeing, romantic getaway, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car,
adventure seekers.

 

image description image description